ABU’s Doko, Tanimu, Okpe, Sallau, Abarshi now members of TETFund National Research Fund C’ttee

ABU’s Doko, Tanimu, Okpe, Sallau, Abarshi now members of TETFund National Research Fund C’ttee

Prof. Ahmed Doko Ibrahim, Prof. Tanimu Namamu Abubakar, and Prof. Anthony C. Okpe, all from Ahmadu Bello University, are among the 55 members of the TETFund National Research Fund Screening and Monitoring Committee (NRFS&MC) reconstituted recently by the Federal Government.

Others also from Ahmadu Bello University, who made the list of the reconstituted committee include Prof. Abdullahi Balarabe Sallau, and Prof. Muawiya Musa Abarshi, all from the institution’s Department of Biochemistry.

Prof. Doko, who is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Administration, is from the Department of Quantity Surveying, while Prof. Abubakar and Prof. Okpe are from the Departments of English & Literary Studies, and Fine Art, respectively.

The Committee, which reconstitution was approved by the Hon. Minister of Education, has former Vice-Chancellor, University of Jos, Prof. Hayward Mafuyai Babale as Chairman, and Lagos State University’s Prof. Olanrewaju Adigun Fagbohun, as Vice-Chairman.

Membership of the committee was drawn from federal universities, state universities, Nigerian Defence Academy, Association of African Universities, and Stellenbosch University, South Africa.

The members were also drawn from the National Board for Technical Education, National Universities Commission, and National Commission for Colleges of Education.

Representatives of Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP), and Colleges of Education Academic Staff Union (COEASU) are equally members of the 55-member committee.

The Executive Secretary, Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund), Arc. Sonny S.T. Echono, signed the letter appointing the Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and other members of the Committee.

The letter said that their tenure is for a period of two years effective from the date of their inauguration, which details of the date and venue will be committed to them in due course.

The committee is charged to, among others, pre-qualify applications for research grants from academics in beneficiary institutions to ensure that they are in compliance with the approved templates for accessing TETFUND NRF grants.

It is to also categorize pre-qualified research proposals into streams and disciplines to ease appointing assessors/reviewers as well as recommend pre-qualified and categorized proposals.
Public Affairs Directorate,
Office of the Vice-Chancellor,
Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
Wednesday, 29th May, 2024

Scroll to Top