Kaduna State Covid-19 Update, 18 Jan 2021: 35 patients are discharged. 147 samples returned positive out of 523.
TETFund Defence and Security Committee visits ABU

TETFund Defence and Security Committee visits ABU

2020-12-09 13:47:53By
Kindly share this on

TETFund Research and Development Sub-Committee on Defence and Security has visited Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria to prepare grounds for collaboration with the Institution on security issues. 

The Chairman of the Committee, Prof. Mohammed Sani Haruna, who led members of the committee on a courtesy visit to the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Kabir Bala, said the emergence of national research foundation was required for effective collaboration between academics and private sector. 

“The Country cannot move forward unless we do what other nations did before attaining prosperity and other social developments”, he said. 

Prof. Haruna explained that this would only be achieved through knowledge and manufacturing economy, saying creativity and development of research from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria could assist greatly. 

He stressed the need to look within, and that collaboration with the University would be one step forward and that TETFund was ready to fund research on security and other related issues. 

“That is why the team visited the University to get strategic guidance, thoughts, etc, as regards the establishment of the National Research Foundation. Thus, the first step would be administering of questionnaire for response from the University”, he said. 

Welcoming the team, the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Kabir Bala, represented by Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic, Prof. Danladi Amodu Ameh, thanked the team for the visit. 

“With the challenges we have now, having things that we develop ourselves is a way to go, because this will enable you to do it without somebody knowing how you do what you do”, he said. 

He assured that the University would give all the support required, saying that the Institution’s Centre for Energy Research and Training would be handy in this regard. 

Those on the Chairman’s entourage were Ambassador Ahmed Makarfi and Prof. Demo Kalla. 

The following assisted in receiving members of the committee: Prof. Ibrahim Umar, Director CERT; Dr. Bello Muktar, Deputy Director, Academic Planning and Monitoring; Dr. A. Ahmed, Deputy Director, Affiliation; Ashiru T. Zango, University Ag. Chief Security Officer; Prof. Y. Jibril of Department of Electrical Engineering. 

Others included, Prof. F.O. Anafi of Department of Mechanical Engineering, Prof. A. Uzairu, Department of Chemistry; Prof. M.B. Mu’azu of Computer Engineering; Prof. Abu S. Lawal and Dr. Muhammad Bukhari Musa from Polymer and Textile Engineering.       



Public Affairs Directorate,

Office of the Vice-Chancellor,

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria

8th December, 2020  


Kindly share this on