Academic feats University Senate congratulates

Academic feats: University Senate congratulates Kwaga, Katsayal, Buratai, others

2023-03-13 17:57:30By
Kindly share this on

Academic feats: University Senate congratulates Kwaga, Katsayal, Buratai, others 


The Senate of Ahmadu Bello University has acknowledged with delight the numerous academic developments achieved by some staff of the University in recent times.

Chairing the 519th Senate Meeting held on Monday, 20th February, 2023, the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Kabiru Bala, congratulated them, and urged others to emulate them.

The staff, whose academic and professional accomplishments were acknowledged at the Senate, included Prof. J.K.P. Kwaga of the Africa Centre of Excellence for Neglected Tropical Diseases and Forensic Biotechnology (ACENTDFB), who has been appointed as a member of the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Microbiological Risk Assessment (JEMRA).

Prof. Mohammed Inuwa Umar Buratai of Department of Theatre and Performing Arts was congratulated on being conferred with the Fellow Security Institute (FSI) after attending the Executive Intelligence Management Course organised by the National Institute for Security Studies.

Department of Pharmacognosy and Drug Development’s Prof. Umar Adam Katsayal was also congratulated by the Senate. He was recognised for being a Member of the National Institute (mni) after attending the Senior Executive Course of the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru, Jos.

Other staff recognised by the Senate are as follows:

Dr. D.K. Sani, Department of Nursing Sciences, for his selection to participate in the Nigerian Cancer Research Training (NCAT) programme sponsored by the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Centre’s Global Cancer Disparities Initiatives (GCDI). 

Nadir A. Nasidi, Department of History, for winning the African Studies Review (ASR) Prize for the Best Africa-based Doctoral Dissertation 2022 titled “A Contextual Analysis of Sufi Saint Paintings in Kano, Nigeria.”

The Materials Physics Research Group of the Department of Physics for publishing 18 Peer Reviewed Articles in 2022 and attendance of International Conferences by seven members of the group.

Amaya Jobin Habila, a Ph.D student of Africa Centre of Excellence for Neglected Tropical Diseases and Forensic Biotechnology (ACENTDFB) for being conferred with the Best African Women Researchers Award for 2022.

Prof. F. Adeyanju, Department of Human Kinetics and Health Education for being awarded with “Women and Sport Achievement Diploma” in recognition of her outstanding contribution to promoting the development and participation of women and girls in sports by the International Olympic Committee.

Abdulkadir Ibrahim Oba, a Postgraduate student of the Department of Vocational and Technical Education, for wining a $300 community development grant in the 2022 Ilorin Climate Action Challenge for Smart Agriculture solution competition among the Local Government Areas in Kwara State. 

The Senate also acknowledged with appreciation the donation of a block of offices for the Faculty of Engineering. The structure was built, commissioned and handed over to the University by the Sokoto State government. It was officially commissioned by the Head of Service, Sokoto State, Alhaji Mohammed Abubakar on Friday, 27th January, 2023.  




Public Affairs Directorate,

Office of the Vice-Chancellor,

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

Monday, 13th March, 2023

Kindly share this on