ABU raises task force to develop comprehensive TLP implementation plan

ABU raises task force to develop comprehensive TLP implementation plan

2022-11-21 16:49:26By
Kindly share this on

• Director, DAPM, to serve as chair 

• Members to begin retreat this coming weekend


Ahmadu Bello University has constituted a task force charged with the responsibility of developing a full teaching and learning policy implementation plan for the University. 

Director, Directorate of Academic Planning and Monitoring (DAPM), Prof. Bello Mukhtar, is appointed to chair the 10-member task force. 

This is an aftermath of a one-day policy workshop organized by the University in conjunction with UNESCO-ICHEI and IIOE Nigeria National Centre on Saturday, 12th November, 2022 at which the implementation plan for ABU TLP was deliberated upon by relevant stakeholders. 

It would be recalled that the University Senate had, at its 514th meeting on 27th January this year, considered and approved the Teaching and Learning Policy (TLP), paving the way for the adoption of Online and Blended Teaching and Learning (OBTL) at all levels in the institution. 

The task force, according to a letter constituting it by the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Kabiru Bala, is to, among others, identify the key “actionable elements” of the ABU Teaching and Learning Policy. 

It is also to develop the implementation matrix indicating roles, responsibilities, key performance indicators (KPIs) and evaluation metrics, timelines, and others, as well as to develop the OBTL quality assurance framework. 

Other terms of reference for the task force include identifying the resources, partnership/networks and sources of funding to support the actualization of the institution’s OBTL, as well as advising on any other matter that will aid the policy implementation. 

The task force, which was given two weeks within which to round off the assignment, has Director, Distance Learning Centre, Prof. M.I. Sule; Director, Iya Abubakar Institute of Information and Communication Technology (IAII&CT), Dr. D. Kana; and Director, CBN Centre for Economics and Finance, Prof. M.A. Haruna, as members. 

Others are Dean, Faculty of Life Sciences, Prof. M.N. Shuaibu; Deputy Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies, Prof. Yinka Okubanjo; and Prof. A.Y. Idris of Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry.

They also include Prof. A.Z. Mohammed, Department of Home Economics; Prof. J.B. El-Yakub, Department of Chemical Engineering; Dr. Asma’u Hamza, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Dr. A.U. Makarfi, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology. 

Deputy Registrar, Council Affairs, Malam Dalhatu Salihu; Chief Accountant, Bursary Department, Malam A.N. Onimisi, as well as representatives of Postgraduate Students Representatives Council (PRC) and Students Representatives Council (SRC) will all serve as members in attendance. 

Meanwhile, members of the task force have already begun the work, and they have slated this coming weekend for a retreat in respect of the assignment. 



Public Affairs Directorate, 

Office of the Vice-Chancellor, 

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria 

Monday, 21st November, 2022

Kindly share this on